Emergency Notification

The Ministry of Finance invites you to adhere to health and precautionary measures, and in order to preserve your safety, you can use all of our services through the website and the smart application.

Font Size

Preferred Colours

Night Vision

Black & White

Color Blind

Translate this page to

The Ministry is not responsible for the translation output by Google

MOF Website’s Accessibility Features

Search in website

Use advanced search

If you find that your search produced too many results, and you want to improve it, you can add other keywords to your search or use a keyword filter that filters the results, in a way to reflect more accurately the information you are searching for.

Common VAT Agreement of the States of the Gulf Cooperation Council

​ Common VAT Agreement of the States of the Gulf Cooperation Council

As part of the objectives of The Charter of the Arab States of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), a policy designed to strengthen regional cooperation, the GCC member states have agreed to sign a Unified VAT Agreement to implement Value Added Tax (VAT); a tax on the consumption of goods and services. The tax is imposed on importation (exceptions may apply) and the transactions of goods and services at each stage of the supply chain. The tax is in line with the existing Unified Economic Agreement between GCC countries, an agreement that aims to develop economic ties to coordinate and standardize economic, financial and monetary policies. Closer integration will help to strengthen the GCC and continue working towards the establishment of a unified regional economy.

VAT is set to be implemented on 1st January 2018. The UAE is in the process of issuing tax related legislations, including VAT law, which will take effect on that date.

The unified VAT agreement will include:

  1. Definitions and general provisions

  2. Supplies within the Scope of the Tax

  3. Place of Supply

  4. Tax due date

  5. Calculation of Tax

  6. Exceptions

  7. Exceptions on importation

  8. Persons who are Obligated to Pay Tax

  9. Deduction of Tax

  10. Obligations

  11. Special Treatments of Tax Refunds

  12. Exchange of Information among member states

  13. Transitional provisions

  14. Objections and appeals

  15. Closing provisions

View the text of the law