Welcome to the Ministry of Finance Website
Last Login

Value Added Tax (VAT)

Everything you need to know about VAT implementation in the UAE

This page provides general information on Value Added Tax that was introduced in January 2018 (at a rate of 5%), its role in effective fiscal management at the federal level, and the impact it has on individuals and businesses throughout the UAE.

THE FTA – overseeing VAT in the UAE

The Federal Tax Authority (FTA) was established under Federal Law by Decree No. 13 of 2016. The authority takes charge of managing and collecting federal taxes and related fines, as well as distributing tax-generated revenues and applying the tax-related procedures in the UAE.

The authority’s Chairman is His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum Deputy Ruler of Dubai, and the UAE Minister of Finance, while His Excellency Khalid Al Bustani takes up the position of Director General directly from his role as the Assistant Undersecretary of International Financial Affairs at MoF – a role he held for more than 37 years. FTA will work alongside MoF in its drive to achieve economic diversification in the UAE, with a focus on profits derived from non-oil sources. It will work towards enhancing the financial stability of the UAE, and will provide guidance and assistance to businesses and consumers to ensure they meet their liabilities and understand fully the application of taxation in the country.

video Added Tax


 

What is Tax?


 
 

Tax is the means by which governments raise revenue to pay for public services. Government revenues from taxation are generally used to pay for amenities such as public hospitals, schools and universities, as well as defence, infrastructure and other important aspects of daily life.

There are many different types of taxes, namely:

direct tax  
indirect tax  
 
 
To download What is Tax? infograph, click here
 

What is Value Added Tax (VAT)?


 
 

Value Added Tax (or VAT) is an indirect tax. Occasionally, it might be referred to as a type of general consumption tax. In a country which has a VAT, it is imposed on most supplies of goods and services that are bought and sold.

VAT is one of the most common types of consumption tax found around the world. Over 150 countries have implemented VAT (or its equivalent, Goods and Services Tax), including all 29 European Union (EU) members, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, Singapore and Malaysia.

VAT is charged at each step of the “supply chain”. Ultimate consumers generally bear the VAT cost while businesses collect and account for the tax, in a way acting as a tax collector on behalf of the government.

A business pays the government the tax that it collects from the customers while it may also receive a refund from the government on tax that it has paid to its suppliers. The net result is that tax receipts to the government reflect the “value add” throughout the supply chain. Below is a simple, illustrative example explaining how VAT works (based on a VAT rate of 5%):

 Value Added Tax  

To download What is VAT? infograph, click here

The difference between VAT and Sales Tax

A sales tax is also a consumption tax, just like VAT. For the general public there may be no observable difference between how the two types of taxes work, but there are some key differences. In many countries, sales taxes are only imposed on transactions involving goods. In addition, sales tax is only imposed on the final sale to the consumer. This contrasts with VAT which is imposed on goods and services and is charged throughout the supply chain, including on the final sale. VAT is also imposed on imports of goods and services so as to ensure that a level playing field is maintained for domestic providers of those same goods and services.

Many countries prefer VAT over sales taxes for a range of reasons. Importantly, VAT is considered to be a more sophisticated approach to taxation as it makes businesses serve as tax collectors on behalf of the government and cuts down on misreporting and tax evasion.

VAT implementation in the UAE

The UAE Federal and Emirate governments provide citizens and residents with many different public services - including hospitals, roads, public schools, parks, waste control, and police services. These services are paid for using government budgets. VAT provides our country with a new source of income, contributing to the continued provision of high quality public services in the future. It also helps the government move towards its vision of reducing dependence on income derived from oil and other hydrocarbons. VAT was introduced across the UAE on 1st January 2018 at a standard rate of 5%.

VAT implementation in coordination with other GCC countries

The UAE is part of a group of countries which are closely connected through “The Economic Agreement between the GCC States” and “The GCC Customs Union”. The GCC group of nations have historically worked together in designing and implementing new public policies as we recognise that such a collaborative approach is best for the region.

VAT for Businesses

Registering for VAT

A business must register for VAT if their taxable supplies and imports exceed the mandatory registration threshold of AED 375,000.

Furthermore, a business may choose to register for VAT voluntarily if their supplies and imports are less than the mandatory registration threshold, but exceed the voluntary registration threshold of AED 187,500.

Similarly, a business may register voluntarily if their expenses exceed the voluntary registration threshold. This latter opportunity to register voluntarily is designed to enable start-up businesses with no turnover to register for VAT.

VAT-related responsibilities of businesses

All businesses in the UAE need to record their financial transactions and ensure that their financial records are accurate and up to date. Businesses that meet the minimum annual turnover requirement (as evidenced by their financial records) are required to register for VAT. Businesses that do not think they should be VAT-registered should maintain their financial records in any event, in case we need to establish whether they should be registered.

VAT-registered businesses generally:
  • Must charge VAT on taxable goods or services they supply;

  • May reclaim any VAT they’ve paid on business-related goods or services;

  • Keep a range of business records which will allow the government to check that they have got things right

If you are a VAT-registered business you must report the amount of VAT you’ve charged and the amount of VAT you’ve paid to the government on a regular basis. It will be a formal submission and it is likely that the reporting will be made online.

If you’ve charged more VAT than you’ve paid, you have to pay the difference to the government. If you’ve paid more VAT than you’ve charged, you can reclaim the difference.

VAT in real estate

The VAT treatment of real estate depends on whether it is a commercial or residential property. Supplies (including sales or leases) of commercial properties are taxable at the standard VAT rate (i.e. 5%).

On the other hand, supplies of residential properties are generally exempt from VAT. This ensures that VAT does not constitute an irrecoverable cost to those who buy their own properties. In order to ensure that real estate developers can recover VAT on construction of residential properties, the first supply of residential properties within three years of completion at the time of VAT introduction is zero-rated.

Zero-rated sectors

VAT will be charged at 0% in respect of the following main categories of supplies:

  • Exports of goods and services to outside the GCC

  • International transportation, and related supplies

  • Supplies of certain sea, air and land means of transportation (such as aircrafts and ships

  • Certain investment grade precious metals (e.g. gold, silver, of 99% purity)

  • Newly constructed residential properties, that are supplied for the first time within three years of their construction

  • Supply of certain education services, and supply of relevant goods and services

  • Supply of certain healthcare services, and supply of relevant goods and services

VAT- exempt sectors

The following categories of supplies will be exempt from VAT:

  • The supply of some financial services (clarified in VAT legislation)

  • Residential properties

  • Bare land

  • Local passenger transport

Partial exemption

Where a VAT registered person incurs input tax on its business expenses, this input tax can be recovered in full if it relates to a taxable supply made, or intended to be made, by the registered person. In contrast, where the expense relates to a non-taxable supply (e.g. exempt supplies), the registered person may not recover the input tax paid.

In certain situations, an expense may relate to both taxable and non-taxable supplies made by the registered person (such as activities of the banking sector). In these circumstances, the registered person would need to apportion input tax between the taxable and non-taxable (exempt) supplies.

Businesses will be expected to use input tax (ratio of recoverable to total) as a basis for apportionment in the first instance although there will be the facility to use other methods where they are fair and agreed with the Federal Tax Authority.

Government Entities and VAT purposes

Supplies made by government entities are typically subject to VAT. This ensures that government entities are not unfairly advantaged as compared to private businesses.

Certain supplies made by government entities will, however, be excluded from the scope of VAT if they are not in competition with the private sector or where the entity is the sole provider of such supplies. Certain government entities are entitled to VAT refunds – this is designed to avoid budgeting issues and provide a level playing field between outsourced and insourced activities.

For the supplies provided for government entities, the treatment of such supplies depends on the same supply and not on the recipient of the supply. Therefore, if the supply is subject to the standard tax rate, the treatment will remain the same even if it is provided to a government entity.

For any further information or enquiries, click here or send us an email on taxenquiries@mof.gov.ae. ​​


Page last updated : 16/05/2018 12:00 PM

مرحبا بكم في موقع وزارة المالية

ضريبة القيمة المضافة

كل ما تحتاج لمعرفته حول ضريبة القيمة المضافة وكيفية تطبيقها في دولة الإمارات

 توفر هذه الصفحة معلومات عامة عن ضريبة القيمة المضافة التي دخلت حيز التنفيذ في يناير 2018 (بنسبة 5%)، ودورها في إدارة الشؤون المالية بفعالية على المستوى الاتحادي، وتأثيرها على الأفراد والشركات في جميع أنحاء دولة الإمارات.

تأسست الهيئة الاتحادية للضرائب بموجب المرسوم بقانون اتحادي رقم 13 لعام 2016، وتتولى إدارة وتحصيل وتنفيذ الضرائب الاتحادية والغرامات المرتبطة وتوزيع إيراداتها وتطبيق الإجراءات الضريبية المعمول بها في الدولة.

ويتولى سمو الشيخ حمدان بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب حاكم دبي، وزير المالية منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة الهيئة الاتحادية للضرائب، في حين يشغل سعادة خالد علي البستاني، الوكيل المساعد لشؤون العلاقات المالية الدولية في وزارة المالية منذ أكثر من 37 عاماً، مديراً عاماً للهيئة الاتحادية للضرائب، بدرجة وكيل وزارة. وتعمل الهيئة جنباً إلى جنب مع وزارة المالية في مسيرتها نحو تحقيق التنويع الاقتصادي في الدولة مع التركيز على الأرباح المستمدة من مصادر غير نفطية. وتعمل الهيئة أيضاً على تعزيز الاستقرار المالي لدولة الإمارات وتقديم التوجيه والمساعدة للشركات والمتعاملين لضمان الوفاء بالتزاماتهم وتوفير فهم تام حول كيفية تطبيق الضرائب في الدولة.

فيديو عن الضريبة المضافة








 

ما هي الضريبة؟


 
 

الضريبة هي وسيلة تحصل من خلالها الحكومات على إيرادات لتغطية تكاليف الخدمات العامة. وتُخصص الإيرادات الضريبية عادةً لتغطية تكاليف الخدمات العامة مثل المستشفيات والمدارس والجامعات الحكومية والدفاع، وغيرها من الجوانب الحياتية المهمة.

هناك عدة أنواع من الضرائب منها:

الضريبة غير مباشرة  
 
الضريبة المباشرة  
 
لتحميل الإنفوغرافيك الخاص بالضريبة، انقر هنا



​​​

 

ما هي ضريبة القيمة المضافة؟


 
 

ضريبة القيمة المضافة هي ضريبة غير مباشرة. قد يُشار إلى هذه الضريبة في بعض الأحيان كنوع من أنواع ضريبة الاستهلاك، وتفرض في الدول ذات نظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة، على معظم توريدات السلع والخدمات التي يتم شراؤها وبيعها.

ضريبة القيمة المضافة هي واحدة من أكثر ضرائب الاستهلاك شيوعاً حول العالم، حيث تطبّق أكثر من 150 دولة ضريبة القيمة المضافة (أو ما يعادلها: ضريبة السلع والخدمات)، بما فيها جميع الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي والبالغ عددها 29 دولة، بالإضافة إلى كندا ونيوزيلندا وأستراليا وسنغافورة وماليزيا.

تُفرض ضريبة القيمة المضافة في كل مرحلة من مراحل "سلسلة التوريد". وبشكل عام، فإن المستهلك النهائي هو من يتحمل تكلفة هذه الضريبة في حين تقوم الأعمال بتحصيل واحتساب الضريبة، وتتولى بذلك دور تحصيل الضريبة لصالح الحكومة.

تقوم الأعمال بسداد الضريبة التي قامت بتحصيلها من العملاء للحكومة، وفي بعض الحالات قد تسترد هذه الأعمال الضريبة التي كانت قد دفعتها لمورّديها. وبالتالي، فإن النتيجة الصافية من العائدات الضريبية التي تتلقاها الحكومة تتمثل في تلك "القيمة التي أضيفت" عبر مراحل سلسلة التوريد. فيما يلي مثالاً توضيحياً مبسطاً لشرح كيفية تطبيق ضريبة القيمة المضافة (على أساس أن نسبة ضريبة القيمة المضافة هي %5):

​​الضريبة المباشرة  

لتحميل الإنفوغرافيك الخاص بضريبة القيمة المضافة، انقر هنا

الفرق بين ضريبة القيمة المضافة وضريبة المبيعات

ضريبة المبيعات هي أيضاً ضريبة استهلاك، كضريبة القيمة المضافة، قد لا يكون الفرق بينهما واضحاً بالنسبة لغير أصحاب الإختصاص، إلا أن بعض الفروقات الأساسية قد تساعد للتمييز بين هذين النوعين من الضرائب. يتم في العديد من الدول فرض ضريبة المبيعات على المعاملات المرتبطة بالسلع فقط. كما يتم فرض هذه الضريبة على مرحلة البيع النهائي للمستهلك فقط. ما يتناقض مع طريقة عمل ضريبة القيمة المضافة التي يتم فرضها على السلع والخدمات خلال مختلف مراحل سلسلة التوريد، بما في ذلك مرحلة البيع النهائي. ويتم فرض ضريبة القيمة المضافة أيضاً على استيراد السلع والخدمات وذلك لضمان الحفاظ على فرص متكافئة للموردين المحليين الذين يتاجرون بالسلع والخدمات ذاتها.

تفضّل العديد من الدول ضريبة القيمة المضافة على ضريبة المبيعات وذلك لعدة أسباب أهمّها اعتبار ضريبة القيمة المضافة منهجاً أكثر تطوراً لفرض الضرائب حيث تقوم الأعمال بتحصيل الضرائب لصالح الحكومة مما يسهم في الحد من حالتي التصريح الخاطىء والتهرب الضريبي.

تطبيق ضريبة القيمة المضافة في دولة الإمارات

تتولى الحكومة الاتحادية والحكومات المحلية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة تقديم العديد من الخدمات العامة المختلفة لمواطنيها وللمقيمين فيها، بما في ذلك المستشفيات والطرقات والمدارس الحكومية والمنتزهات وإدارة النفايات وخدمات الشرطة. تتم تغطية تكاليف جميع هذه الخدمات من الميزانيات الحكومية.

وبالتالي، تمثّل ضريبة القيمة المضافة مصدر دخل جديد للدولة مما يساهم في ضمان استمرارية توفير الخدمات الحكومية العالية الجودة في المستقبل. ويساعد مصدر الدخل هذا الحكومة على المضيّ قدماً نحو تحقيق رؤيتها المتمثلة في خفض الاعتماد على النفط وغيره من المنتجات الهيدروكربونية كمصادر أساسية للإيرادات. وقد تم تطبيق ضريبة القيمة المضافة في جميع أنحاء دولة الإمارات في أول يناير 2018 بنسبة 5%.

تطبيق ضريبة القيمة المضافة بالتنسيق مع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي
تشكّل الإمارات العربية المتحدة جزء من مجموعة دول ترتبط فيما بينها ارتباطاً وثيقاً من خلال "الاتفاقية الاقتصادية بين دول مجلس التعاون" و"الاتحاد الجمركي لدول مجلس التعاون". وقد عمدت دول مجلس التعاون على العمل بشكل مشترك لتصميم السياسات العامة الجديدة وتطبيقها، ولذلك نعتبر أن مثل هذا المنهج التعاوني هو الأفضل بالنسبة إلى المنطقة.

ضريبة القيمة المضافة للأعمال

التسجيل لضريبة القيمة المضافة

على الأعمال التسجيل لضريبة القيمة المضافة إذا كانت توريداتها الخاضعة للضريبة ووارداتها من الخارج تتجاوز حد التسجيل الإلزامي البالغ 375000 درهم.

وعلاوة على ذلك، تستطيع الأعمال التسجيل لضريبة القيمة المضافة اختيارياً إذا كانت توريداتها الخاضعة للضريبة وواردتها من الخارج أقل من حد التسجيل الإلزامي، ولكن تتجاوز حد التسجيل الاختياري البالغ 187500 درهم.

وكذلك يجوز لأي أعمال التسجيل اختيارياً إذا تجاوزت مصاريفها حد التسجيل الاختياري. تم وضع هذه الفرصة للتسجيل اختيارياً لتمكين الأعمال المبتدئة التي ليس لديها إيرادات التسجيل في ضريبة القيمة المضافة.

المسؤوليات المناطة بالأعمال في ما يتعلق بضريبة القيمة المضافة

يتعيّن على جميع الأعمال في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة توثيق معاملاتها المالية بما يضمن دقّة سجلاتها المالية وتحديثها بشكل دائم. كما يتعين على الأعمال التي يفوق رقم أعمالها الحد الأدنى للإيرادات (الذي يتمّ توثيقه من خلال سجلاتها المالية) التسجيل في نظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة. أما الأعمال غير الملزمة بالتسجيل في نظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة فيتعين عليها حفظ سجلاتها المالية بشكل منتظم يسمح بالرجوع إليها للتأكد مما إذا وجب عليها التسجيل لغايات الضريبة.

إن الأعمال المسجّلة لغايات الضريبة، وبصفة عامة:
  • ملزمة بفرض ضريبة القيمة المضافة على توريداتها من السلع أو الخدمات

  • قادرة على استرداد أي ضريبة قيمة مضافة قامت بسدادها عن السلع أو الخدمات المرتبطة بأعمالها التجارية

  • ملزمة بحفظ مجموعة من السجلات التجارية التي تتيح للحكومة إمكانية التحقق من صحة معاملاتها

يتعين عليك، إذا كنت تمتلك شركة مسجلة في نظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة، أن تصرّح بصورة منتظمة ودورية عن ضريبة القيمة المضافة التي تفرضها وكذلك مبلغ ضريبة القيمة المضافة الذي قمت بتسديده للحكومة. وتتخذ عملية رفع هذه التقارير صفة رسمية علماً أن العملية سوف تتم على الأرجح إلكترونياً.

وفي حال تجاوز مبلغ ضريبة القيمة المضافة الذي فرضته المبلغ الذي دفعته لمورديك، فيتعين عليك سداد قيمة الفارق للحكومة. أما في حال كانت ضريبة القيمة المضافة التي دفعتها أكبر من قيمة الضريبة التي فرضتها، فيحق لك طلب استرداد الفارق من الضريبة.

استعداد الأعمال لتطبيق ضريبة القيمة المضافة

سيكون أمام الأعمال المعنية الوقت الكافي قبل التطبيق الفعلي لنظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة في يناير 2018. ويتعين على الأعمال خلال هذا الوقت استيفاء الشروط المطلوبة التي تسمح لها بتأدية التزاماتها الضريبية. بعض الأعمال يمكنها البدء من الآن بحيث تكون مستعدة. وللحرص على الامتثال بشكل كامل لنظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة، نرى بأنه قد يتعين على الأعمال إجراء بعض التغييرات على صعيد عملياتها الأساسية، وإدارتها المالية، والطرق التي تعتمدها في مسك الدفاتر والسجلات المحاسبية، وكذلك الوسائل التقنية التي تستخدمها، بالإضافة إلى تغييرات على صعيد مواردها البشرية (مثل المحاسبين والمستشارين المتخصصين بالضرائب).

ومن الضروري أن تسعى الأعمال لفهم الآثار المترتبة على تطبيق نظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة بمجرد صدور التشريعات ذات الصلة، وأن تبذل كافة الجهود الممكنة لمواءمة أعمالها مع متطلبات إعداد التقارير والامتثال التي تفرضها الحكومة. وسنقوم بتزويد الأعمال بالتوجيهات والتعليمات الخاصة بكيفية الامتثال الكامل لنظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة بمجرد صدور التشريعات ذات الصلة. وستُناط مسؤولية الامتثال للقانون والالتزام به للأعمال.

ضريبة القيمة المضافة في قطاع العقارات

تعتمد معاملة ضريبة القيمة المضافة للعقارات على كونها تجارية أم سكنية. حيث تخضع توريدات العقارات التجارية (البيع أو الإيجار) للنسبة الأساسية من ضريبة القيمة المضافة (أي 5%).

من ناحية أخرى، يتم إعفاء العقارات السكنية من ضريبة القيمة المضافة بشكل عام، وهذا يضمن بأن لا تشكل ضريبة القيمة المضافة تكلفة غير قابلة للاسترداد للأشخاص الذين يشترون ممتلكات خاصة بهم. في الوقت نفسه، ولضمان إمكانية استرداد ضريبة القيمة المضافة من قبل المطوّر العقاري على بناء العقارات السكنية، يخضع التوريد الأول للعقارات السكنية خلال ثلاث سنوات من انتهائها لنسبة الصفر.

القطاعات التي تخضع لنسبة الصفر

يتم فرض نسبة الصفر على الفئات الرئيسية التالية من التوريدات:

  • الصادرات من السلع والخدمات إلى خارج دول مجلس التعاون

  • النقل الدولي، والتوريدات ذات الصلة

  • توريدات بعض وسائل النقل البحرية والجوية والبرية (مثل الطائرات والسفن)

  • استثمارات معينة في المعادن الثمينة (مثل الذهب والفضة بدرجة نقاء 99%)

  • العقارات السكنية حديثة الإنشاء التي يتم توريدها لأول مرة خلال ثلاث سنوات من إنشائها

  • خدمات أساسية/معينة في قطاع التعليم والسلع والخدمات المرتبطة بها

  • خدمات أساسية/معينة في قطاع الصحة والسلع والخدمات المرتبطة بها

القطاعات المعفية من ضريبة القيمة المضافة

يتم إعفاء الفئات التالية من التوريدات من ضريبة القيمة المضافة:

  • توريد بعض الخدمات المالية (موضحة في التشريعات الضريبية)

  • العقارات السكنية

  • الأراضي الفضاء/الخالية

  • النقل المحلي للركاب

الإعفاء الجزئي

في حال تحمل الشخص المسجل لضريبة القيمة المضافة ضريبة المدخلات على مصاريف أعماله، يمكنه استرجاع هذه الضريبة بالكامل إذا كانت المصاريف تتعلق بتوريدات خاضعة للضريبة، أو هنالك نية بالقيام بها من خلال الشخص المسجل. وفي المقابل، إذا كانت المصاريف تتعلق بتوريدات غير خاضعة للضريبة (توريدات معفاة من الضريبة)، فلا يمكن للشخص​​​ المسجل استرجاع ضريبة المدخلات.

وفي بعض الحالات، قد تكون بعض مصاريف الشخص المسجل مرتبطة بتوريدات خاضعة للضريبة وتوريدات غير خاضعة للضريبة (مثل أنشطة قطاع الخدمات المالية)، وفي هذه الحالة على الشخص المسجل تقسيم ضريبة المدخلات بين التوريدات الخاضعة للضريبة والتوريدات غير الخاضعة للضريبة (المعفاة).

ويتوقع من الأعمال استخدام ضريبة المدخلات (نسبة القابل للاسترداد إلى المجموع) كأساس لتوزيع ضريبة المدخلات، على الرغم من أنه سيكون هناك القابلية لاستخدام أساليب أخرى عادلة في حال الاتفاق عليها مع الهيئة الاتحادية للضرائب.

الجهات الحكومية وأغراض ضريبة القيمة المضافة

بشكل عام، تخضع التوريدات التي تقوم بها جهات حكومية لضريبة القيمة المضافة. وذلك يضمن بأن الجهات الحكومية لا تستفيد بشكل غير عادل من مميزات ضريبية عند مقارنتها بالأعمال الخاصة.

ولكن، يتم استثناء بعض التوريدات التي تقوم بها جهات حكومية من نطاق ضريبة القيمة المضافة إذا لم تكن بمنافسة مع القطاع الخاص أو كونها المزوّد الوحيد لهذه التوريدات. ويكون لبعض الجهات الحكومية الحق باسترداد ضريبة القيمة المضافة، وتم وضع ذلك لمنع مشاكل الميزانيات وتوحيد الأسعار بين الأنشطة الداخلية والأنشطة التي يتم الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية لها.

وفيما يخص التوريدات التي تتم لجهات حكومية، فإن معاملة التوريدات تعتمد على التوريد نفسه، وليس المستلم/المتلقي للتوريد. وعليه، إذا كان التوريد خاضعاً للضريبة بالنسبة الأساسية فإن المعاملة الضريبية تبقى ذاتها حتى لو تم التوريد لجهة حكومية.

لمزيد من المعلومات والاستفسارات، انقر هنا أو تفضل بمراسلتنا على البريد الإلكتروني على taxenquiries@mof.gov.ae. ​​​​​


تقييم الصفحة
|
آخر تحديث للصفحة : 16/05/2018 12:05 م