Welcome to the Ministry of Finance Website
Last Login

Federal Budget Framework and Steps

Systematically created for the UAE’s social and economic development
Introducing the general budget

The general budget is the financial programme of the federal government used to achieve economic and social development. This is accomplished through the optimal distribution and efficient use of resources within the framework of the federal strategy on the expected spending by federal authorities during the coming fiscal year*, provided that income and expenditure are balanced.

According to the decree of Federal Law No 8 of 2011, a separate budget for federal service authorities may be earmarked, and submitted to MoF for approval within budget law. Also, all federal authorities may - by virtue of a Cabinet resolution - be assigned to prepare a draft medium-term budget. The Cabinet resolution shall determine the budget's terms in years provided that it includes annual estimates for both income and expenditure as approved by the Cabinet.

The steps of issuing the budget law

The Minister of Finance issues a circular that specifies the necessary steps for the preparation of next year’s draft budget during the third month of the present fiscal year. Such a circular shall include budget cap, approved strategic objectives, indicators, revenue forecast and the fixed deadline for submitting a draft budget to MoF. The minister shall issue another circular on closure of accounts and preparing the final account of the previous fiscal year.

Each federal authority determines its Programmes, plans and Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) according to the strategic plan approved by the Cabinet within the budget cap. All authorities must also submit their initial forecasts for revenue and expenses allocated to chapters, line items, Programmes and activities agreed upon, along with performance measures and efficiency indicators according to the circular issued by the minister, which specifies submission deadline.

* The fiscal year is composed of 12 months, starting from 1st January and ending on 31st December of each year.


Federal Budget Issuing Steps


 
Federal Budget Issuing Steps  
 
To download Budget Issuing Steps infograph, click here
 

Federal Budgeting Process


 

The budgeting process is initiated by release of the financial circular on preparation of the draft budget for the next fiscal year. This financial circular is issued in accordance with the law, and based on the UAE Cabinet’s Resolution No 1/181 of 2008, which mandates all the ministries and federal authorities to:

 
 
Federal Budgeting Process​  
 
 
 

Based on the general strategic objectives of the federal government (UAE Vision 2021), all ministries and federal authorities prepare plans for their annual budgets, under the supervision of the Ministry of Cabinet Affairs. This is to ensure that these plans are in line with the overall vision of the country as a reference for sectoral plans and Programme​s.

During the budgeting process, MoF provides technical support to all ministries and authorities to ensure their readiness and ability to carry out their tasks. It cooperates with ministries and federal authorities to determine the main and complementary services and activities of such entities along with their cost, starting from zero point to the actual cost, then adding this cost within the approved automated systems.

 
 
System's objectives  
 
 
To download Budgeting Process infograph, click here
 

Budget Allocations

In each annual budget, revenues, expenses and allocations are to be determined on the basis of the following budget sectors:

 
Budget Allocations

*The social development sector includes public, university and higher education services, health, pension fund (pensioners), social assistances, marriage fund grants, Sheikh Zayed Housing Programme grants, and other services.

 
To download Budgeting Allocations infograph, click here
 

Phases of Budgeting Process

Federal budgeting process consists of several phases, namely: planning, preparation, budgeting, review, approval and execution.

 
>Phases of Budgeting Process  
 
 
To download Phase of Budgeting Process infograph, click here
 

Zero-Based Budgeting

Zero-Based Budgeting (ZBB) is a method of budgeting in which all expenses must be justified for each new period. ZBB is conducted at regular intervals and starts from a "zero base", analysing every function within an organisation regarding its needs and costs. Budgets – within the limits of budget caps – are then built around what is needed for the upcoming period, regardless of whether the budget is higher or lower than the previous one. It provides bottom-up costing for performed activities. The budget is based on the costing and prioritisation of activities, as well as the optimal use of resources. ZBB has been applied since the budget cycle 2011-2013

Budget Cycle

The Federal Budget follows a medium-term budget cycle. The budget cycle must match the strategy cycle of the Federal Budget​. A budget is drawn up for each year within the fiscal period, before the start of the period, and is updated annually within the budget cycle. This principle ensures that the long-term government strategy is reflected in the budget on a consistent basis. The federal budget cycle was developed from a three-year to a five-year budget cycle.

 

Six Best Practices
Applied in the Federal Budget


six major elements that all comply with international best practices and increase transparency and efficiency. These elements can be grouped under the following  ​

 
 
To download Six elements to applying best practices infograph, click here ​​​​
 

Page last updated : 24/04/2018 12:57 PM

مرحبا بكم في موقع وزارة المالية

الإطار وخطوات إعداد الميزانية الاتحادية

يتم إعدادها بشكل منهجي لتحقيق التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في دولة الإمارات
لمحة عامة عن الميزانية العامة

الميزانية العامة هي البرنامج المالي للحكومة الاتحادية لتحقيق التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية من خلال التوزيع الأمثل والاستخدام الكفء للموارد، في إطار الاستراتيجية الاتحادية، على المصروفات المتوقع إنفاقها بواسطة الجهات الاتحادية خلال سنة مالية* مقبلة على أن يراعى توازنها إيراداً ومصروفاً.

ووفق المرسوم بقانون اتحادي رقم (8) لسنة 2011 يجوز بنص خاص أن تكون للجهات الاتحادية الخدمية المستقلة ميزانية مستقلة ترفع لوزارة المالية لاعتمادها ضمن قانون ربط الميزانية، كما يجوز أن يتم بقرار من مجلس الوزراء تكليف جميع الجهات الاتحادية بإعداد مشروع ميزانية خطة متوسطة المدى يحدد عدد سنواتها بقرار المجلس، على أن تتضمن تقديرات سنوية لكلٍ من الإيرادات والمصروفات واعتمادها من مجلس الوزراء.

خطوات إصدار قانون الميزانية

يُصدر وزير المالية تعميماً يحدد فيه الخطوط اللازمة لإعداد مشروع ميزانية السنة التالية خلال الشهر الثالث من السنة المالية الجارية؛ يشتمل على سقف الميزانية والأهداف الاستراتيجية المعتمدة والمؤشرات والتوقعات الخاصة بالإيرادات والموعد المحدد لتقديم مشروع الميزانية للوزارة، كما يُصدر تعميماً آخر بإقفال الحسابات وإعداد الحساب الختامي عن السنة المالية المنتهية.

* السنة المالية هي 12 شهراً تبدأ من أول يناير وتنتهي في 31 ديسمبر من كل عام.

خطوات إصدار قانون الميزانية​​


 
خطوات إصدار قانون الميزانية 
 
 
لتحميل إنفوغرافيك خطوات إصدار قانون الميزانية، انقر هنا،


 

عملية إعداد الميزانية


يبدأ إعداد الميزانية بصدور التعميم المالي الخاص بإعداد مشروعها للسنة المالية المقبلة الذي يصدر عادة وفق القانون واستناداً لقرار مجلس الوزراء رقم (181/1) لسنة 2008 الذي وجه كافة الوزارات والجهات الاتحادية إلى:

 
عملية إعداد الميزانية
 
 

وعند إعداد الميزانية في كل عام تعمل جميع الوزارات والهيئات الاتحادية على وضع تصورات ميزانياتها الخاصة وفقاً لأهداف الاستراتيجية العامة للحكومة الاتحادية (رؤية الإمارات 2021) تحت إشراف وزارة شؤون مجلس الوزراء لضمان انسجام هذه الخطط مع الرؤية الشاملة للحكومة باعتبارها مرجعاً للخطط والبرامج القطاعية.

وخلال فترة إعداد الميزانية تقدم وزارة المالية الدعم الفني والتقني لجميع الوزارات والهيئات لضمان جاهزيتها وقدرتها على أداء المهمة. وتقوم بالتعاون مع الوزارات والجهات الاتحادية لتحديد الخدمات الرئيسية والتكميلية والأنشطة التي تقوم بها كل جهة والتكاليف المالية لكل خدمة ونشاط بدءاً من نقطة الصفر وصولاً إلى التكلفة الحقيقية، ومن ثم إدخالها ضمن الأنظمة الآلية المعتمدة.

 
 
أهداف النظام  
 
لتحميل إنفوغرافيك عملية إعداد الميزانية، انقر هنا،

 

مخصصات الميزانية

في كل ميزانية سنوية يتم تحديد الإيرادات والمصروفات والاعتمادات والمخصصات على أساس قطاعات الميزانية التالية:

 
مخصصات الميزانية  
 

*قطاع التنمية الاجتماعية يشمل خدمات التعليم العام والجامعي والعالي والصحة وصندوق المعاشات (المتقاعدين) والإعانات الاجتماعية ومنح برنامج زايد للإسكان ومنح صندوق الزواج وخدمات أخرى.

لتحميل إنفوغرافيك مخصصات الميزانية، انقر هنا،
 

مراحل إعداد الميزانية

تمر عملية إعداد الميزانية الاتحادية بعدة مراحل هي: التخطيط، الإعداد، وضع الميزانية، المراجعة، الاعتماد والتنفيذ.

 
مراحل إعداد الميزانية  
 
 
لتحميل إنفوغرافيك مراحل إعداد الميزانية، انقر هنا،
 

الميزانية الصفرية

الميزانية الصفرية هي عبارة عن طريقة لتقدير مصاريف كل فترة جديدة ويتم إعدادها في فترات منتظمة بناء على قاعدة الصفر بحيث يتم تحليل تكلفة كل أنشطة الجهة وتحديد تكلفتها، ثم تبنى الميزانية ضمن السقف المحدد لها مسبقاً، بغض النظر عما إذا كانت أعلى أو أقل من الميزانية السابقة، وتحدد تكلفة إجمالي الميزانية بشكل تصاعدي للأنشطة المنفذة. ترتكز الميزانية الصفرية على التكلفة وأولويات الأنشطة وحسن استخدام الموارد.. وقد تم تطبيق الميزانية الصفرية منذ دورة ميزانية السنوات 2011 - 2013.

دورة الميزانية

تتبع الميزانية الاتحادية دورة ميزانية متوسطة المدى يجب أن تتطابق مع الدورة الاستراتيجية للحكومة الاتحادية، على أن يتم تخطيط ميزانية كل سنة من الفترة المالية قبل بداية الفترة، ويتم تطويرها سنوياً خلال فترة الميزانية. يضمن هذا المبدأ انعكاس استراتيجية الحكومة البعيدة المدى في الميزانية على أساس ثابت ومستقر.. وكانت الميزانية الاتحادية تتبع الثلاث سنوات وتم تطويرها لخطة متوسطة المدى لمدة خمس سنوات.

 

6 عناصر لتطبيق
أفضل الممارسات


مراحل إعداد الميزانية  ​
 
 
لتحميل إنفوغرافيك العناصر الست لتطبيق أفضل الممارسات، انقر هنا،​ ​
 

تقييم الصفحة
|
آخر تحديث للصفحة : 03/07/2018 11:54 ص