Welcome to the Ministry of Finance Website
Last Login

​​​​Federal Law No. 8 of 2017 on VAT

HH Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE and Ruler of Abu Dhabi issued the Federal Decree Law No. (8) of 2017 on Value Added Tax, which outlines the tax scope, rate, responsibility for tax, supply of goods and services in all cases, including supply in special cases, supply of more than one component, supply via agent, supply by government entities and cases of deemed supply. The law also defines the tax registration and deregistration, as well as mandatory tax registration, tax group, registration exceptions, tax registration of government bodies and voluntary registration. Rules pertaining to supplies also include date of supply, place of supply of goods, place of supply of water and energy, place of supply of services, place of supply in special cases and place of supply of telecommunication and electronic services.

​​​The law also outlines the place of residence of the supplier, place of establishment, place of residence of an agent, value of supply of goods or services, value of import, value of supply for related parties, value of deemed supply, tax inclusive prices, value of supply in cases of discount of subsidies, value of supply of vouchers, value of supply of postage stamps, temporary transfer of goods, as well as profit margins and calculating and charging tax based on the profit margin earned.

​​​​In addition, the law states the zero rates of supply and exemption, the supply of goods and services subjected to a zero rate, supply exempted from tax, single and mixed supply, specific obligations to account for tax which include reverse charge, import of concerned goods, designated zones, transfer of goods in designated zones and exceptions for designated zones.

​​​​​​The law summarises the calculation of due tax, recoverable input tax, capital assets scheme, adjustment of tax after the supply date, tax invoice, tax credit notes, tax period, tax returns and reclaiming of tax as well as carrying forward the excess of recoverable tax and tax recovery. The law also stipulates the provisions of tax recovery, violations and penalties, tax evasion in addition to general provisions and closing provisions. This Decree- Law will be published in the Official Gazette and will come into effect as of January 1 2018.

​​​​​ View the text of the Law ​​​

​​

مرحبا بكم في موقع وزارة المالية

مرسوم بقانون اتحادي رقم (8) لسنة 2017 في شأن ضريبة القيمة المضافة

أصدر صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة، حفظه الله مرسوم بقانون اتحادي رقم (8) في شأن ضريبة القيمة المضافة، والذي يحدد نطاق فرض الضريبة ونسبتها ومسؤوليتها، والضرائب الخاصة بتوريد السلع والخدمات، بمختلف حالاته شاملاً، التوريد في حالات خاصة، والتوريد المؤلف من أكثر من مكون، والتوريد بوساطة وكيل، وتوريد الجهات الحكومية، كما تطرق إلى حالات التوريد الاعتباري واستثناءاته. ويحدد القانون أطر التسجيل الضريبي وإلغائه، والملزمون به، وماهية المجموعة الضريبية، واستثناءات التسجيل الضريبي، فضلاً عن التسجيل الضريبي للجهات الحكومية والتسجيل الاختياري، وآليات إلغائه. ويتناول المرسوم بقانون القواعد المتعلقة بالتوريدات شاملاً تاريخ التوريد، مكانه، سواء كان للمياه والطاقة، أو للخدمات، أو للحالات الخاصة، أو خدمات الاتصالات والخدمات الإلكترونية.

​​​ويوضح المرسوم بقانون مكان إقامة المورد أو المتلقي، مقر التأسيس، ودور الوكيل، وقيمة التوريد، وقيمة الاستيراد، وقيمة التوريد للأطراف المرتبطة، وقيمة التوريد الاعتباري، وإعلان الأسعار شاملة الضريبة، وقيمة التوريد في حالات الخصم والإعانات، وقيمة توريد القسائم والطوابع البريدية، ونقل السلع المؤقت، فضلاً عن حساب هامش الربح وفرض الضريبة على أساس هامش الربح.

​​​​​​ويتناول المرسوم بقانون أيضاً نسبة الصفر والإعفاءات، حيث يحدد النشاطات الخاضعة لنسبة الصفر في كل من عمليات التوريد والاستيراد، والسلع والخدمات، فضلاً عن التوريدات المعفاة من الضريبة، كما يوضح أطر التوريد الواحد والتوريد المختلط، والالتزامات الخاصة لاحتساب الضريبة، شاملاً الاحتساب العكسي، واستيراد السلع المعنية، والأطر المتعلقة بالمناطق المحددة، مثل نقل السلع، واستثناءات المنطقة المحددة.

​​​​​​​ويحدد المرسوم بقانون أطر احتساب الضريبة المستحقة، وتجزئة ضريبة المدخلات وتسويتها، ونظام الأصول الرأسمالية، وتسوية الضريبة بعد تاريخ التوريد، والفواتير الضريبية، والأشعار الدائن الضريبي، والفترة الضريبية والإقرارات الضريبية وسداد الضريبة واسترجاعها، بالإضافة إلى ترحيل فائض الضريبية القابلة للاسترداد واسترداد الضريبة. ويشمل أيضاً أحكاماً أخرى تتعلق باسترداد الضريبة، وتعريفات المخالفات والعقوبات وعواقب التهرب الضريبي، إلى جانب الأحكام العامة والأحكام الختامية. هذا وسيتم نشر هذا المرسوم بقانون في الجريدة الرسمية على أن يعمل به اعتباراً من يناير 2018.

​​​​​​ للاطلاع على نص القانون​ ​​

​​